top of page

The Whooping Crane

(Grus americana)

Of the 15 species of cranes worldwide, the whooping crane is the most endangered species. Like all cranes worldwide, this species is always under pressure where wetlands are drained and the cranes therefore cannot find a sufficiently large and undisturbed territory for breeding and rearing the young. In addition, the whooping cranes did not have large populations, at least in historical times. In addition, however, whooping cranes are popular because of their magnificent white feathers, which are a popular ornament on the  Beware of the wealthy

Schreikraniche.jpg

American women from east coast cities had been hunted down until there were almost none left. In 1946 the low point was reached with just 15 specimens in only one remaining population. After that, intensive protective measures began – especially in the wintering area in Texas on the Gulf of Mexico – hunting was banned, but the breeding area in northern Canada was only discovered in 1954. Then one began to take 1 egg each time immediately after the egg was laid, because whooping cranes can only raise 1 young at a time anyway. In this way, a gradually increasing population was built up in captivity. Various approaches were used to try to reintroduce whooping cranes into the wild, but these were unsuccessful for more than 2 decades. In the mid-1990s, the idea came up  hatched in captivity

Schreikrniche 2.jpg

Raising cranes in isolation from humans and training them to follow microlight aircraft, thus learning to migrate from Wisconsin (the planned location of a new population) and Florida (a new wintering area). It was not until 2001 that young whooping cranes were actually successfully released into the wild by using artificial communication with real whooping crane sounds recorded in the wild (6 different vocalizations with different meanings) instead of human imitation of crane call calls  [1] . Previously, years of preliminary tests with sandhill cranes were unsuccessful because the crane chicks were imprinted on humans by the human crane call imitation. The new released one

The population currently (2019) comprises about 100 individuals, but is not yet self-sustaining and must continue to be fed with isolated young cranes every year. In total, the number of whooping cranes living in the wild is over 600 specimens.

 

[1]  at the suggestion of Bernhard Wessling, who also provided the recordings and the hardware required for communication, see also "The Call of the Cranes", www.bernhard-wessling.com/page-4

This article was written by Dr. Bernhard Weßling specially written for EndangeReX . he is one  the experts on cranes, knows about their threats and their protection. Among other things, he played a major role in saving the last whooping cranes! Only in March of this year did he publish his own book called "Der Ruf der Kraniche" (Link)  published, in which he completely new perspectives in  crane research and protection of these wonderful animals! Many thanks to him, not only for this article, but also for much of it  these great pictures!

Schreikaniche Ultraleichtflugzeug.jpg
Schreikranich_Fütterung_Ultraleichtflug
Schreikraniche_Fütterung.jpg
Schreikraniche_Weßling.jpg
4.jpg
Schreikraniche_Weßling_Lebensraum.jpg
3.jpg
1.jpg
2.jpg
5.jpg
bottom of page

Der Schreikranich

(Grus americana)

Von den weltweit vorhandenen 15 Kranicharten ist der Schreikranich die bedrohteste Art. Wie alle Kraniche weltweit ist auch diese Art immer dort unter Druck, wo Feuchtgebiete trockengelegt werden und die Kraniche deshalb kein genügend großes und ungestörtes Revier für Brut und Aufzucht der Jungen finden können. Hinzu kam aber für die Schreikraniche, daß sie zumindest in historischer Zeit keine großen Populationen aufwiesen. Zusätzlich aber sind Schreikraniche unter anderem wegen ihrer prächtigen weißen Federn, die ein beliebter Schmuck an den Hüten der wohlhabenden

Schreikraniche.jpg

Amerikanerinnen der Ostküstenstädte waren, bejagt worden, bis es fast keine mehr gab. 1946 wurde der Tiefpunkt mit gerade einmal 15 Exemplaren in nur einer verbliebenen Population erreicht. Danach setzten intensive Schutzmaßnahmen – besonders zuerst im Überwinterungsgebiet in Texas am Golf von Mexico – ein, die Jagd wurde verboten, das Brutgebiet im Norden Kanadas wurde aber erst 1954 entdeckt. Daraufhin begann man, unmittelbar nach der Eiablage jeweils 1 Ei zu entnehmen, weil Schreikraniche ohnehin immer nur 1 Junges großziehen können. Auf diese Weise wurde eine nach und nach immer größer werdende Population in Gefangenschaft aufgebaut. Mit verschiedensten Vorgehensweisen versuchte man, Schreikraniche auszuwildern, aber über 2 Jahrzehnte hinweg waren diese ohne nachhaltigen Erfolg. Mitte der 1990er Jahre kam man auf die Idee, in Gefangenschaft erbrütete

Schreikrniche 2.jpg

Kraniche isoliert von Menschen aufzuziehen und sie darauf zu trainieren, Ultraleichtflugzeugen zu folgen und so die Migration von Wisconsin (dem geplanten Standort einer neuen Population) und Florida (einem neuen Überwinterungsgebiet) zu erlernen. Erst im Jahre 2001 gelang es, junge Schreikraniche tatsächlich erfolgreich auszuwildern, indem anstelle menschlicher Imitation von Kranichlockrufen eine künstliche Kommunikation mit in der Wildnis aufgenommenen echten Schreikranichlauten (6 verschiedene Lautäußerungen unterschiedlicher Bedeutung) verwendet wurde [1]. Zuvor war jahrelangen Vorversuchen mit Kanadakranichen kein Erfolg beschieden, weil die Kranichküken durch die menschliche Kranichrufimitation auf Menschen geprägt wurden. Die neue ausgewilderte

Population umfaßt derzeit (2019) etwa 100 Inidividuen, ist aber noch nicht selbsterhaltend und muß weiterhin jährlich isoliert aufgezogene Jungkraniche zugeführt bekommen. Insgesamt beträgt die Zahl der in Freiheit wild lebenden Schreikraniche über 600 Exemplare.

 

[1] auf Anregung von Bernhard Weßling, der auch die Aufnahmen und die zur Kommunikation notwendige Hardware zur Verfügung stellte, siehe auch „Der Ruf der Kraniche“, www.bernhard-wessling.com/page-4

Dieser Artikel wurde von Dr. Bernhard Weßling extra für EndangeReX geschrieben. Er ist einer der Experten zum Thema Kraniche, kennt sich mit ihrer Bedrohung und ihrem Schutz aus. Unter anderem hatte er großen Anteil an der Rettung der letzten Schreikraniche! Erst im März diesen Jahres hat er ein eigenes Buch namens "Der Ruf der Kraniche" (Link) veröffentlicht, in dem er ganz neue Blickwinkel in die Kranichforschung und den Schutz dieser wundervollen Tiere gibt! Vielen Dank an ihn, nicht nur für diesen Artikel, sondern auch einen Großteil dieser tollen Bilder!

Schreikaniche Ultraleichtflugzeug.jpg
Schreikranich_Fütterung_Ultraleichtflug
Schreikraniche_Fütterung.jpg
Schreikraniche_Weßling.jpg
4.jpg
Schreikraniche_Weßling_Lebensraum.jpg
3.jpg
1.jpg
2.jpg
5.jpg